Wk 12 – Artist Conversation – Patrick Williams

Artist: Patrick Williams
Exhibition: Revisionist Present
Media: Drawing & Painting
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Werby
Website: N/A
Instagram: N/A

On Wednesday, I ended up in Patrick Williams’ art gallery and I really enjoyed it. Williams is currently a student at Cal State Long Beach but will be very soon graduating this semester. Williams is graduating with a Masters of Fine Arts in the area of drawing and painting.

Patrick’s art gallery was very interesting and appealing to look at from a younger persons perspective. He wanted to show how people look at art and their feelings towards a certain piece. He also mentioned how tricky this can be, because of “mixed emotions.” Patrick’s paintings are “an attempt to wrestle with the limitations and the assets of painting in the content of a post digital paradigm; both as art object and as their eventual life as digital files.”

Most of his work were very bright, colorful, and well textured. Some of them were a twist of old famous pieces so they had some form of familiarity with the audience. Some of the pieces though I do have to admit don’t very look well thought out, but I’m sure Patrick has put thought and meaning behind them.

My favorite piece was this one cute girl who was standing in front one of his pieces, which I took a picture of down below. She also happens to be my girlfriend so I’m pretty happy about that. Jokes aside, my girlfriend and I really liked this art exhibit and hope Patrick the best of career in art!

Leave a Reply

