Wk 3 – Artist Conversation – Mimi Haddon

img_4556Artist: Mimi Haddon
Exhibition: Touch Color 2
Media: Fiber Art
Gallery: CSULB School of Art
Website: mimihaddon.com
Instagram: @mimihaddon
Background on Artist:
Mimi Haddon is artist who graduated from Cal State Long Beach with a degree in graphic design in 1994. She is currently still attending school to acquire a MFA in Fiber Art. She first worked as a graphic designer and progressed while she found her niche for fiber art and photography. Haddon has worked with costumes and photography almost her whole career. Her artwork is inspired by Joseph Albert.
Formal Analysis:
When I first walked into Mimi’s exhibit, I find that she uses bright, colorful, and “fun” colors for her artwork. With colors like red, yellow, and orange; it’s clear to see that she likes to use warmer colors for her artwork. She’s also very proud of the fact that all the clothes used were either donated or purchased from Goodwill. Haddon’s artwork stood out to me because I found it very bright, interesting, and different. It was also very pleasing to look at; it was eye candy.
Content Analysis:
Haddon’s first project was about a year and a half ago. She started off with 100 shirts without realizing she needed a lot more to finish. Haddon doesn’t start with a plan, she likes to work with the material and let her intuition guide her. Haddon’s wall piece with the shirts hanging on the white wall was inspired by an arcade game on the Santa Monica pier. During her interview, she told us how she loved how colors transfer over to a white wall after you stare at them for a while.
Synthesis / My Experience
My first thought walking into Mimi’s art exhibit that day was wow! I myself love bright colors and flashy things. It reminds me of when I was a child and makes me enjoy life as much as I possibly can. Its also very nice hearing from an artist’s perspective because I can never fathom how they come about making an art piece so exquisite like Mimi’s was.
Leave a Reply

